Bartley and Murphy withdraw from England U20 World Cup squad

Bartley and Murphy withdraw from England U20 World Cup squad

Arsenal will only have one representative in the the England U20 side looking to win the World Cup later this month after both Rhys Murphy and Kyle Bartley withdrew from the squad set to fly out to Egypt in preparation for the tournament, leaving Gavin Hoyte as the sole Arsenal player in the squad. haven’t given a reason for them disappearing from the squad list on their website but with the Carling Cup just a week away it seems that the talented duo have been given the nod to play and Arsenal have recalled them from England with the fixture against West Brom in mind. Certainly it’s unlikely that there are injury problems to blame, with both Bartley and Murphy playing in Mondays excellent 1-0 victory over Stoke City this week.

Kyle Bartley has earnt the right to start a Carling Cup match this season after a year of consistently impressive performances at reserve and youth level, but Rhys Murphy would be a very surprising inclusion with the likes of Gilles Sunu, Sanchez Watt and Nacer Barazite all ahead of him in the pecking order.

Brian Eastick has named 6 of Man City’s highly successful academy in his squad who have been drawn against Uruguay, Uzbekistan and Ghanain the group stage. Despite many star players such as Wilshere, Rodwell and Moses not being involved, there are still a few eyecatching talents in the squad in the form of Kieran Trippier, Matthew James and Gary Gardner worth looking out for.

Here is the revised England squad in full:

  • Sam Baldock (MK Dons)
  • Febian Brandy (Man Utd)
  • Matthew Briggs (Fulham)
  • Adam Clayton (Man City)
  • Gary Gardner (Aston Villa)
  • Gavin Hoyte (Arsenal)
  • Matthew James (Man Utd)
  • Martin Kelly (Liverpool)
  • Paul Marshall (Man City)
  • Ben Mee (Man City)
  • Alex Nimely (Man City)
  • Jon Obika (Yeovil Town – on loan from Spurs)
  • Nana Ofori (Chelsea)
  • Mark Oxley (Hull City)
  • Elliot Parish (Aston Villa)
  • Jordan Parkes (Watford)
  • Jason Steele (Middlesbrough)
  • Kieran Trippier (Man City)
  • Andrew Tutte (Man City)
  • Josh Walker (Middlesbrough)
  • Michael Woods (Chelsea)

About the Author